back at it again.

Here’s the thing.

I’ve been thinking about starting up Hippiefig again for a while now.

Hippiefig began as a health food blog that my boyfriend and I collaborated on in the summer before our senior year. We were finally done studying for SATs and were in for a more relaxed school year (besides college applications and decisions, no big deal…)

Really not much has changed since we have gone away to college, except that I’m now stuck in a cramped dorm room with 2 other girls, and dorm rules permit nothing but crappy microwaves and mini fridges to somehow keep us fed with good food.

Since coming to college (and declaring two majors: public health and theatre) I have learned my way around the dining halls, the overpriced markets, and everywhere in between. I may or may not have had to sneak a rice cooker into my room to accommodate¬†my plant-based wishes, but it has all been worth it. I’ve learned to cook potatoes, lentils, quinoa, and pasta in my rice cooker, and it has been an enjoyable (and 99.99% successful) journey so far! Note to self: red lentils in the rice cooker will turn to mush before you can even eat them.

I may not be the most refined college chef out there (yet) but I have so much to share for other college vegans and anybody else who is curious about this lifestyle. Eating a whole foods, plant based diet is so rewarding for your overall physical health (and I’ve even found it becoming a spiritual aspect in my life as I’ve learned more and more about the ethical and environmental aspects of veganism and what I am doing to help our earth). My goal through these blog posts is to inspire others, provide support, and demonstrate just how easy and rewarding this lifestyle can be for anybody who is willing to try it.

I will be posting much more soon! Until then, here are some photos of me and Mother Earth. I fall in love with her a little more every single day!

DSC_0067DSC01700DSC01714

2 thoughts on “back at it again.

  1. Keep up the good work! I know it seems like a painto be stuck with the rice cooker, for now. When I moved into a place with a full sized kitchen, I found myself going back to a crockpot for lots of meals because adulting took up so much of my time (it still does!) So, I’m looking forward to reading your rice cooker hacks!

    • Thanks so much for commenting! I am excited to share some of my favorite hacks, too. It will definitely feel like a “treat” next year when I am living in an apartment and will have a REAL kitchen to work in!

Leave a Reply

