Fudgy Vegan Avocado Brownies

Senior year of high school is just around the corner… College apps, late nights studying, and significant decisions about my future are all becoming a reality, and I can’t help but feel a mix of emotions as my last week of summer passes. I can’t lie, last year, as a junior, I hardly slept–there were multiple nights where I pulled all-nighters studying for tests and finishing projects and I was under a lot of stress. This summer, cooking with Mark has been an amazing way for me to regain a creative outlet, and it has been especially comforting because it involves plant-based foods, a diet (though so much more than that to me) that I am extremely passionate about embracing and sharing. (We recently got home for a vacation in the mountains with Mark’s family and had a great time–there was lots of time spent in the water, enjoying good food, and playing cards!)

DSC_0142

I have been doing a lot of thinking, particularly about how I want to better my lifestyle in the coming year. First of all, getting more sleep is necessary. I don’t plan on being up past 12, at latest, this year, though we will see how long that lasts. Most importantly, however, I want to continue bettering my eating habits. I do a lot of reading about vegan eating and nutrition and what is best for my health. For a long time, I have been very confused about how much fat I should be consuming, because there is a lot of mixed beliefs held by veggie doctors, nutritionists, and bloggers. I have come to realize that as I get older, I can worry about fat more, but as a teenage girl, eating some extra fat is not the worst thing I can do for my health. Though some studies suggest there are heart benefits with extremely low fat diets, it would be silly for me to think that I wouldn’t be missing out on some amazing benefits for my heart, brain, and body by eliminating healthy fats from nuts, seeds, and my favorite… AVOCADO.

DSC_0501

This past week, I have been trying out all sorts of back-to-school recipes: crackers, chickpea chicken nuggets, and these delectable, fudgy brownies.


The steps are so simple for these brownies that they will only take about 10 minutes to prepare. Simply use a food processor to blend avocado, 2 “flax eggs” and coco powder.

DSC_0522

Then, combine this with some additional ingredients to add taste and texture and spoon out into a brownie pan. (Look at this awesome pan, it allows all of the brownies to have crusted edges!)

DSC_0547

Place the brownies in the oven for about 20 minutes, and when they’re cooled off, they’re ready to eat! These guys are best a few minutes out of the oven, where you’ll find that they have maximum fudgy-ness. Seriously, look at that inside!

DSC_0602

These brownies are totally guilt-free and delicious. I can’t wait to make another batch of these for my first week of senior year. Nothing says “You will get through this school year” like a homemade vegan treat!

DSC_0616


Fudgy Vegan Avocado Brownies


Ingredients:

  • 1 avocado
  • 2 tablespoons flaxseed meal + 6 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 cup coco powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 1/3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F and prepare brownie pan with baking spray
  2. Blend avocado, coco powder, and “flax eggs” in a food processor or blender, until creamy. Add more water if necessary
  3. In a bowl, add baking powder, all purpose flour, sugar, and salt
  4. Add avocado and chocolate puree to the dry ingredients. Then, add water and vanilla extract into the bowl and stir all the ingredients together until smooth
  5. Add brownie batter into brownie pan and place into the oven for 20-25 minutes or until cooked all the way through. After baking, remove from oven and let chill for about 5-10 minutes before serving
One thought on “Fudgy Vegan Avocado Brownies

Leave a Reply

